A Connect and Coach Administrator user is responsible for configuring sites, creating and maintaining user accounts, assigning these users to sites, deleting accounts no longer in use and resetting passwords when necessary.

Security Overview

PHRQL recommends a few best practices with regard to security. In order to abide by HIPAA policies and reduce the risk of security breaches, the following practices should be observed:

  • Users must choose strong passwords. A strong password is typically between 8 and 32 characters long and contains numbers, uppercase and lowercase letters, and special characters.
  • All users must have their own unique user account. A user should never share an account with another user for any reason. Users should safeguard their passwords and refrain from sharing a password with another user.
  • Users must always log out of the Connect and Coach platform when they are finished using the system. Leaving accounts open and active increases the risk for data breaches.
  • Users should never e-mail patient names or other protected health information (PHI). Protecting the confidentiality of PHI is a central component of HIPAA regulations.
  • Users should only log in to Connect and Coach from computers running anti-virus software with up-to-date virus definitions.

Chapter 1. Managing Security and Access

Administrator users are responsible for communicating and enforcing security policies adopted by your organization. Additionally, administrators determine the level of access required for end users, and assign them access based on their professional role.

Section 1. Role Based Access Control Overview

Users of the Connect and Coach platform are granted one of two role-based access levels:

  • Administrators: Users with Administrator accounts have access to all functions of the Connect and Coach platform, both administrative and clinical. Functions specific to the Administrator role include the ability to configure sites, create and maintain user accounts, assign users to sites, delete accounts no longer in use and reset dietitian user account passwords.
  • Dietitian Users: Dietitian users are able to add patients; record and maintain detailed information on patient interactions; add, edit and schedule classes and one on one counseling sessions; and run reports.


This Managing Security and Access page discusses role based tasks available to Administrator users. These tasks are described fully below.

Section 2. Adding Sites

Sites are configured from the Program tab. To set up a site:

Adding New Sites

 

Adding New Sites

1. Click the Program tab.
2. Click Site Information.
3. Click Add New Site.

The Edit Site window opens. Required fields are underscored. Although Site Name is the only field required to set up a site, you should enter as much information as possible when configuring a site for the first time.

Edit Site

Editing Existing Sites

1. Enter the site name in the Site Name field. If the information is available, also complete the Site Tracker ID, Phone, Fax, Tax ID, Address, City, State and Postal Code fields.
2. Click Save Changes.

To continue adding additional sites, simply repeat steps three through five until all sites are configured.

Section 3. Adding Users

User accounts are configured from the Program tab. To set up a user account:

Adding New Staff Members

 

Adding Users

1. Click the Program tab.
2. Click Staff Information.
3. Click Add New Staff Member.

The Create New Staff Member window opens. Required fields are underscored. Although First Name, Last Name, Email and Assigned Site are the only fields required to set up a user, you should enter as much information as possible when creating a new user account.

Create New Staff Member

Creating New Staff Member

1. Enter the user’s first name in the First Name field, the user’s last name in the Last Name field, and the user’s e-mail address in the Email field. If the information is available, also complete the SalutationMiddle Name, Credentials, Title, Work Phone, Cell Phone, Fax, Address, City, State and Postal Code fields.
2. In the Assigned Site box, choose the store at which the dietitian will be offering counseling services. At this time, choose only one store. Instructions for adding additional stores are provided in the Assigning Users to Sites section below.
3. In the PHRQL box, click the box next to Allow Staff Member PHRQL Access to site.
4. Click Save Changes.

To continue creating additional user accounts, simply repeat steps three through seven until all users are configured.

Section 4. Assigning Users to Sites

After you have created a user account, it may be necessary to assign the user to additional sites.

Assigning Users to Sites

 

Show User Account Details

1. Click the Program tab.
2. Click the Staff Information tab.
3. From the Staff Information list, find the user for whom you want to add sites, and click the Show Details link next to that user.

The details associated with the user’s account will display.

Assigning Users to Sites 2

Manage Site/PHRQL Access
4. Click the Manage Site/PHRQL Access link.

The Assign Staff Member to Site window opens. In the Assigned Stores section, you will see a list of stores to which the user is already assigned. The Unassigned Stores section lists the stores to which the user has not yet been assigned.

Assign Staff Member to Site

Assign Staff Member to Sites

1. For each site to which you want to assign the user, first click the Assigned box and then click the PHRQL Access box. This will both assign the user to a site and allow the user to access PHRQL for that site.
2. Click Save Changes.

Section 5. Password Reset

Users with Administrator access may change or reset a user’s password. To change or reset a user’s password:

Assigning Users to Sites

 

Resetting Password

1. Click the Program tab.
2. Click the Staff Information tab.
3. From the Staff Information list, find the user for whom you want to reset a password, and click the Show Details link next to that user.

The details associated with the user’s account will display.

Update Password

Update
4. In the Login section, click the Update link.

The Update Staff Member Login window opens.

Update Password 2

Update Staff Member Login
If you want to change the staff member’s password, type a new password in the Password field. Retype it in the Confirm Password field, and then click Save Changes. Note that passwords are case sensitive.

If you want to reset the staff member’s password to their username, click the box next to Reset Password, then click Save Changes.

Section 6. Deactivating Users

When a dietitian leaves your organization or no longer requires access to Connect and Coach, you should deactivate that user’s account. To deactivate a user account:

Assigning Users to Sites

 

Deactivating Users
  1. Click the Program tab.
  2. Click the Staff Information tab.
  3. From the Staff Information list, find the user you want to deactivate, and click the Show Details link next to that user.

The details associated with the user’s account will display.

Deactivate User

Deactivating Users
4. Click the link that reads Click here to Make Staff Member Inactive.

A Please Confirm window opens.

Deactivate Staff Confirmation

Deactivating Users

5. Click Deactivate Staff Member.